About CEF eSignature

The CEF eSignature Building Block allows public administrations, businesses, and citizens to electronically sign any document, anywhere in Europe, at any time, in line with the eIDAS Regulation for e-signatures, e-seals and related services offered by Trust Service Providers.

The eIDAS Regulation defines three e-signature levels, basic, advanced and qualified e-signatures: qualified e-signatures meet high standards of security and are legally equivalent to handwritten signatures. It also distinguishes between e-signatures for use by natural persons and e-seals for use by legal persons (e.g. businesses).

By aiding compliance with the eIDAS Regulation, the eSignature Building Block fosters technical and legal cross-border interoperability between the electronic signature services of different countries in Europe. This makes it easier for citizens to access digital services abroad, such as remotely opening a bank account, applying for a study grant, registering a vehicle or being awarded a diploma online. 

The CEF eSignature Building Block provides the following services to help public administrations, businesses and citizens adopt eSignature: 

  • DSS open-source library: open-source software, services, documentation and tools to help you build your own eIDAS-compliant eSignature solution 
  • Trusted List Browser: a publicly available tool to search for your provider of qualified certificates for e-signing, e-sealing or website authentication by browsing Member States' trusted lists and the European Commission list of trusted lists 
  • eSignature validation tests to test the conformance of your solution to the eIDAS Regulation and related standards


Owner/Contact Information

CEF Digital
Contact information


Solution type
Key Interoperability Enabler

Solution external reference information


Only facilitators and authors can create content.