Digitalisation roadmap

Europe confirms commitment to modernise public administration

Published on: 01/11/2017
Last update: 24/10/2019

Ministers of the European Union Member States and EFTA countries have reaffirmed their commitment to government modernisation by signing the ‘Ministerial Declaration on eGovernment’ in Tallinn (Estonia) on 6 October. The Tallinn Declaration outlines goals and priorities for the development of digital services, based on principles such as accessibility, security, openness and interoperability.

The Ministerial Declaration on eGovernment builds on the 2009 Malmö Declaration on eGovernment: “We have taken many steps towards modernising the delivery of public services nationally and across the borders within the EU with digital tools. However, we are yet to seize the full potential of the digital transformation in our administrations as well as at the EU level.”

In the Tallinn declaration, the EU member states and EFTA countries set out objectives for the next five years (2018-2022). These include making government services digital-by-default, reducing the bureaucratic burden, and making digital public services more secure. In addition, public services should be interoperable and accessible across borders. The ministers confirmed their committment to align with the European Interoperability Framework (EIF), a European Commission decision that includes 47 recommendations on eGovernment services.

The declaration emphasises sharing and reuse of ICT solutions, including those developed under the ISA²​ Programme and the Connecting Europe Facility (CEF) programme.

More information:

EC announcement
Tallinn Declaration on eGovernment (PDF)
EU 2017 news item
ISA² Programme news item

Login or create an account to comment.