Dear users, a new Joinup release will be deployed on Thursday 09/02/2023 between 13:00 and 13:30 CET. Within this time window, the site might experience outages. Please adjust your use of the platform accordingly during this time frame.

France: ‘eGovernment services…

France: ‘eGovernment services quality improving’

Published on: 03/11/2015

The quality of eGovernment services offered by French public administrations is improving, according to a report by the French government portal on government modernisation. In 2015, services are rated on average 7.2 out of 10, just above the 2016 target of 7/10, the portal writes.

France’s General Secretariat for Government Modernization (SGMAP) and the government ministries began compiling the annual quality of service scoreboard in 2014. By combining 27 common procedures, the results include the proportional use of online services in comparison to other delivery channels, such as email, telephone or visits to public administration service desks. The dashboard also shows the results of an annual survey conducted among French citizens about their use of digital public services in the last 12 months.

“The scoreboard is an essential management tool for the authorities”, the government modernisation portal writes. The aggregated results show:

  • Development of user support;
  • Ergonomic simplification;
  • Adaptation to mobile terminals;
  • Accessibility;
  • Ability to send supporting documents online;
  • Reducing of the need to submit government certificates (France’s ‘Share your information once’ programme)


France ranks among the top European countries in terms of use of digital public services, the government modernisation portal writes. “A 2014 UN eGovernment study ranked France in first position among European countries.”

The European Commission’s Digital Public Services scoreboard, shows the trends for eGovernment public services in all the European Member States. According to a report published in June, the highest score was registered by Denmark followed by Estonia and the Netherlands.


More information:

Announcement by France’s portal for government modernisation (in French)