New European contest to promo…

New European contest to promote IT reuse

Published on: 07/07/2016
‘Sharing & Reuse Awards’ for administrations which share and reuse their IT solutions

The European Commission will reward software and services that have been proven to be shared and reused in the public sector and which have a potential for wider reuse in Europe.

The EC will award EUR 15,000 and EUR 10,000 to the two most-proven IT solutions reused by each of the four levels of public administration: cross-border, national, regional and local.

Contenders for the ‘Sharing & Reuse Award’ can register their project here. The contest is open until 28 October 2016 and the prizes will be announced in March 2017.

“We want to award existing IT solutions that have been developed and shared by public administrations, and that can be further reused across Europe”, says Margarida Abecasis, in charge of the ISA² programme, under whose auspices the awards are run.

The European Commission is convinced that there are many benefits to reusing IT solutions, and it is encouraging public administrations to team up to provide joint IT services. This would reduce deployment time, lower costs and improve interoperability.

A valuable collection

There are already many reusable IT solutions out there. On the Joinup Portal, the European Commission maintains a large collection of easily searchable reusable IT solutions developed by Member States and the European institutions. “This award will put the best of these solutions and projects in the spotlight,” Ms Abecasis says, “and we hope the prize money will help the winning public administrations to expand the projects’ reach.”

Who can participate?

The ‘Sharing & Reuse Awards’ contest is only for solutions developed by or for public administrations. If the solution has been developed by a private entity on behalf of the public administration, the reward will go to the public administration involved.

The jury will include staff members working for the European Council, European Commission and the European Parliament. Details of the contest can be found here