Three regions now support Ita…

Three regions now support Italy’s new eID system

Published on: 21/04/2016

The Italian regions of Tuscany, Emilia Romagna, and Friuli-Venezia Giulia are supporting the country’s new eID system, SPID, which provides citizens with access to eGovernment services.

Italy's eID system SPID

Italy’s Public System for Digital Identity Management (SPID, Sistema Pubblico per la gestione dell'Identità Digitale di cittadini e imprese) was launched on 15 March.

In the Emilia-Romagna region SPID can be used to manage payment of government services. The Friuli-Venezia Giulia region has announced 11 online services that can now be accessed with SPID, mostly social and health services - including the registering of dogs.

According to the Agenzia per l'Italia Digitale (AGID), all of Italy’s public administrations will be able to offer SPID services within the year.

SPID is already being implemented by the country’s revenue agency, the social security services (INPS), and the national work-related insurance service (INAIL). The complete list of public administrations supporting the eID system is kept up-to-date on the SPID website.


More information:

SPID (in Italian)
AGID announcement (in Italian)
ePractice news item
ePractice news item