Assessment Procedure and Criteria for Lists of Open Standards





Dutch Standardisation Forum and Board 

Short Description

The goal of the Dutch government policy on open standards is to promote interoperability of the Dutch public and semi-public sectors, while at the same time ensuring provider independence. Interoperability means the ability to exchange data electronically; in this case between government  bodies and businesses, between government bodies and civilians, and between government bodies.

In order to attain this goal, the Standardisation Forum and Board were established in 2006. These institutions do not develop standards, but can assign a status (required or recommended) to existing standards in the public and semi-public sector. The Board and Forum maintain the following two lists:

  1. List of open standards for which a ‘Comply or Explain’-regime is in place.
  2. List of recommended common open standards.

Comply or explain” means that Board Members have committed to use the standard, unless this might lead to insurmountable problems, in which case they an alternative choice should be explained.


The document Assessment Procedure and Criteria for Lists of Open Standards contains a description of the assessment procedure and the criteria that are used by the Standardisation Forum and Board to assess a submitted standard for the lists of open standards. It serves as a guide for submitters of open standards, experts and other interested parties.

This document consists of two parts:

  • Part 1. Assessment procedure for lists of open standards. This part contains a description of the various steps in the assessment procedure: who plays what role during each step, the output of each step, and the time frame of each step. In addition, Annex 1 contains a schematic representation of the procedure. Annex 2 contains a complaints procedure.
  • Part 2. Assessment criteria for lists of open standards. The assessment of open standards for inclusion in one of the lists is based on an assessment framework. Firstly, it is assessed whether a submitted standard falls within the scope of the lists, based on the consideration criteria. Only if the corresponding questions are answered positively, will the standard qualify for assessment according to the four substantive criteria.


External links and documents

The document:

List of expert recommendations:

Login or create an account to comment.