UK Cabinet Office: Standards Hub

Published on: 16/01/2018


United Kingdom


HM Government, Minister for the Cabinet Office and Paymaster General

Short Description

Through the Standards Hub anyone can get involved in the process of prioritising and helping the UK Cabinet Office to select open standards for government IT. The aim is to choose a small set of core standards that are to be applied consistently across the UK government to make services better for users and to keep costs down.

There are five groups of people involved in selecting and implementing open standards:

  1. Users
  2. Government technology officials
  3. Challenge owners
  4. Standards panels
  5. Open Standards Board

There are also five phases in their approach:

  1. Suggestions phase
  2. Challenge phase
  3. Proposal phase
  4. Assessment/evaluation/decision phase
  5. Implementation phase

External links and documents

The Standards Hub: