Interoperability Maturity Assessment of a Public Service

What is the solution about?

IMAPS is a user-friendly online questionnaire, designed as a self-assessment tool to assist public service owners to evaluate key  interoperability aspects of their digital public service.

Not only can IMAPS be used to assess the interoperability of any public service – from open data portals, and e-voting platforms, to public procurement services, and much more – it is applicable to services at all levels of government (international, national, regional and local).

IMAPS looks at three different service areas (see IMAPS conceptual model below):

  • Service Delivery (D) – Delivery of the digital public service;
  • Service Consumption (C) – Consumption of reusable machine-to-machine services from other public administrations and businesses. This can include the consumption of functionalities, base registry information and security services;
  • Service Management (B) – Controlling and monitoring the process flow related to service interactions with the external domain from trigger to outcome. This area includes Service Management aspects such as enterprise architecture, procurement, and service level management.
IMAPS Conceptual model

IMAPS defines four levels of interoperability maturity:

  • Ad hoc (level 1): Poor interoperability – the digital public service cannot be considered interoperable
  • Opportunistic (level 2): Fair interoperability – the digital public service implements some elements of interoperability best practices
  • Essential (level 3): Essential interoperability – the digital public service implements the essential best practices for interoperability
  • Sustainable (level 4): Good interoperability – all relevant interoperability best practices are implemented by the digital public service
  • Seamless (level 5): Interoperability leading practice – the digital public service is a leading interoperability practice example for others

What are the benefits of IMAPS?

IMAPS provides you with:

  • A compact, highly user-friendly and free-of-charge online survey questionnaire, which can be completed in 30 minutes;
  • An interoperability maturity score which captures the current maturity level of your digital public service;
  • set of recommendations tailored to your digital public service for improving its interoperability maturity;
  • A confirmation of the conformance of your digital public service with the European Interoperability Framework (EIF).

Start your IMAPS assessment!

The latest version of the IMAPS survey (v2.0.0) is available at the EU survey portal: https://ec.europa.eu/eusurvey/runner/IMAPS_v_2_0_0 .

Explore the IMAPS Specialisations! 

Find out more about the IMAPS Specialisations that allow public service owners to get detailed insights on the legal (LIMAPS), organisational (OIMAPS), technical (TIMAPS) and semantic (SIMAPS) interoperability maturity of their digital public services.

Owner/Contact Information

The ISA Programme
Supra-national authority
Contact information
IMAPS action - ISA2 programme, Directorate-General for Informatics (DIGIT), European Commission
E-mail address


Solution type
Interoperability Specification


Only facilitators and authors can create content.
Non moderated