Digital transformation

New digitalisation agency to boost eGovernment Austria


Austria’s newly created Digitalisierungsagentur (digitalisation agency, DIA) aims to drive government digitalisation and to network and coordinate eGovernment services and initiatives. DIA, a joint initiative by the Federal Ministry for Digital Affairs and the Ministry for Innovation, should also help to make Austria a competitive location for companies.

The agency was announced on 30 May and officially created on 13 June. DIA is to be hosted by the Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft (Research Promotion Agency FFG).

This summer the agency will start by organising the first in a series of network meetings. DIA will also help regional centres to promote digitalisation in small and medium-sized enterprises, and organise a meeting to help accelerate 5G and broadband infrastructure projects.

The agency is to network and coordinate projects related to digitalisation in public services, the business sector, education and research. DIA is to work with the inter-ministerial task force of chief digital officers, advise the federal government, and act as an international point of contact on digitalisation.

Combining resources

One of the founding ministries, the Ministry for Digital and Economic Affairs (Bundesministerium für Digitalisierung und Wirtschaftsstandort) has set as its core task “to further advance digitalisation and digital transformation in Austria”. Coordination and implementation of country-wide eGovernment services are a priority. The ministry also wants to implement and coordinate the nationwide pooling of IT resources to accelerate digitalisation.

Many European Member States have similar digitalisation resource centres. Examples include:

  • Bulgaria’s state eGovernment agency SEGA (Държавната агенция „Електронно управление“ ДАЕУ);
  • Denmark’s Agency for Digitisation (Digitaliseringsstyrelsen - DIGST);
  • France’s Secretariat-General for Government Modernisation (Le secrétariat général pour la modernisation de l’action publique – SGMAP);
  • Italy’s Agency for the Digitalization of the Public Sector (Agenzia per l’Italia Digitale – AGID);
  • Norway’s Agency for Public Management and eGovernment, (Direktoratet for forvaltning og IKT – DIFI); and
  • Spain’s Centre for Technology Transfer (Centro de Transferencia de Technologica – CTT).

Many of these resource centres are linked through the European Commission’s Joinup collaboration portal for eGovernment professionals, where they pool their interoperability solutions.

Joinup offers access to more than 2,800 interoperability solutions for public administrations, included in the collections of more than 40 standardisation bodies, public administrations and open source software repositories.

More information:

Announcement by the Federal Ministry for Digital and Economic Affairs (in German)
Boerse-Express news item (in German)

Login or create an account to comment.