Skip to main content

NIFO renews comparison of interoperability frameworks

NIFO renews comparison of int…

Published on: 27/06/2014 News Archived

The National Interoperability Framework Observatory (NIFO) community is making available a new series of factsheets, following a recent analysis of the policies and activities on interoperability in European countries. They highlight the status of the national interoperability frameworks and their alignment with the European Interoperability Framework (EIF).

The updated NIFO factsheets are now available on the Joinup collaborative platform.

NIFO is a project by the European Commission's ISA programme (Interoperability Solutions for European Public Administrations). It assists countries in aligning their interoperability frameworks with the European one and in monitoring their implementation. The NIFO analytical model supports the comparison and helps the countries in the alignment exercise by analysing and identifying the gaps between the different aspects of the national frameworks and the EIF.

The outcome of the renewed comparison is an update of the analytical models of sixteen countries: Belgium, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Lithuania, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. For example, the Danish National Interoperability Framework (NIF) now fully aligns with ten of the twelve principles of the EIF.

The model also allows a comparison of the interoperability frameworks with the EIF for up to 4 countries, using a dedicated tool on the NIFO community. This enables public administrations to learn from each other, show alternative approaches and potential ways to improve the NIFs.

The NIFO factsheets give a high level abstract of the NIF of each country. They present:

  • An overview of the MS main activities on interoperability and the main online sources
  • A summary of the NIF
  • An overview of the alignment of the NIF with the EIF
  • An overview of other initiatives on interoperability
  • An overview of the implementation of the NIF

These factsheets and the analytical models are updated regularly. Currently, the NIFO provides 31 factsheets, this is for 27 of the 28 Member States, Iceland, Norway, Lichtenstein and Switzerland. The NIFO factsheet for Croatia is not yet completed.