What is EIF

EIF BannerGlossary Icon




The EIF is meant to be a generic framework applicable to all public administrations in the EU.

Layers graph

Some Facts

EIF is based on  three different pillars that relate to 47 recommendations:

? Are you Interested? Find out more! ◀                                                              


The different EIF puts more emphasis on how interoperability principles and models should apply in practice

A set of 47 recommendations, as actionable items to be implemented by public administrations across the different EIF pillars, provide assistance on how to improve governance of their interoperability activities, establish cross-organisational relationships, streamline processes supporting end-to-end digital services, and ensure that both existing and new legislation do not compromise interoperability efforts. These recommendations facilitate their implementation with a stronger focus on openness and information management, data portability, interoperability governance, and integrated service delivery.

A continuously updated set of supporting solutions mapped to the corresponding EIF pillars and recommendations can be used as added components to build your own interoperability solutions or services.

EIF Taxonomy

The EIF is available as Linked Open Data in a SKOS taxonomy.


Back to Toolbox